Awards and Honors

The Timothy F. Moriarty Award in Irish Literature

The Timothy F. Moriarty Award in Irish Literature is the result of a generous donation made to the English Department by Janet Moriarty and is intended to enhance the University’s Irish Literature Programs and activities. To be eligible for the award one must be a graduate student in the English Department who can demonstrate both academic achievement and a focal interest in Irish Literature. The award is designed to support the professional development of English graduate students involved in Irish literature by supplementing expenses related to travel, seminars, conferences, and/or research.

Award Winners:

  • Matthew Ryan Shelton (2016)
  • Sarah Berry (2015)
  • Christina Wilson (2014)
  • Tara Harney-Mahajan (2013)
  • Lindy Brady (2011)
  • Lauren Davis (2010)
  • Molly Ferguson (2009)
  • Chris Dowd and Rose Novak (2008)


  • Joanna MacGugan received a 2015-16 UConn Humanities Institute Dissertation Fellowship for a project called “Competing Authorities and Contested Spaces: Dying in Dublin in the Reign of Edward I.” (2015)
  • Joanna MacGugan was awarded the Fred A. Cazel, Jr., Fellowship from UConn’s Medieval Studies program to support archival research in Jan. 2016 in Ireland on the Liber Albus Dubliniensis (White Book of Dublin) and the Dublin City Franchise Rolls in the Dublin City Archives. (2015)
  • Christina Wilson received a Fulbright U.S. Student Award for Archival Research at the National University of Ireland-Galway. She will be working with the Abbey Theatre Digital Archive, examining material from American dramatists, specifically Sam Shepard, who have worked extensively with the Abbey. (2015)
  • Nicole McClure received the University of Connecticut Humanities Institute Doctoral Research Fellowship and the Department of Literature, Cultures, and Languages Summer Research Fellowship. The awards funded two research trips to Belfast to work with victims and survivors of the Troubles through WAVE Trauma Centre. (2012)
  • Professor Brendan Kane and graduate students Maureen Harris, Tara Harney-Mahajan, and Nathan Suhr-Sytsma all received the Irish Language Summer Award from the Fulbright Institute. (2011)
  • Lauren Davis and Tara Harney-Mahajan and were Scholarship Recipients for the University of Notre Dame Irish Seminar. (2010)
  • Tara Harney-Mahajan won the Aetna Graduate Critical Essay Contest 2nd Place Award for her essay on Edna O’Brien. (2010)
  • Mickey Lyons received a special research grant from UConn’s English department for research at Marsh’s Library in Dublin, Ireland. (2010)
  • Michelle Maloney received a scholarship to attend the month-long Notre Dame Irish Literature Seminar. (2009)
  • Laila Khan and Tara Harney each secured a scholarship to attend the month-long Notre Dame Irish Literature Seminar in Dublin. (2008)